top of page

Miscellaneous Work for Small Projects

Hey all! Welcome back to my Portfolio Blog Post's. In my line of work, free-time, and interest I have hopped and skipped around to many different studios and game development teams. Unfortunately, I did not stay with a good majority of those games or studios' for various reasons. Despite this, my models and work remained alongside those studios to be owned and used in their respective games.


I decided this blog post would be a great starting point, to showcase small projects Ive done over a wide variety of topic's over the years. I'm going to try and keep this in chronological order- but my memory is poor so some projects may be out of order. Let's start as far back as I can remember, keeping everything in this post related to models and work I have only completed for Roblox related games/Clients.


Survivors Dogs: ROBLOX

I want to get my own personal projects out of the way, so heres some documentation on a game of mine. I am a fan of the Warrior Cats series, and have read more books by Erin Hunter. This includes 'Survivors Dogs' which is what my game is based on!

This screenshot is super duper old! Its from 2021, when I first started creating Live models for characters, and creatures.

Before then, I had only worked on hard surface in-animate or low poly models.

At this point in time I made a quick LP 'wolf' model and was learning how to animate and rig within blender.




After a bit of getting comfortable making models for roblox, I decided I would make a model similar to the "OG" broken parts. I hoped to get a cute artstyle out of it with lots of customization but keeping the appeal of roblox's blocky look. Similar to current day 'warrior cats :ultimate edition' game on roblox, but withcanine models.


To the left is a screenshot of a mid-poly demo model that was never fully completed.


I began branching out with proportions and experimenting, this was my early on WIP screenshot of a bernes mountain dog breed themed model.

Keep in mind that the game I aimed to make was similar to the warrior cats, but with more survival aspects and breeds.



Now adays, I'm unsure if I will ever complete or work on this game and it has come to a stop. Canine Odyssey is in open beta now, and I would much rather play their game than go through the effort of making one myself- alone.

I decided to work on models for the 'newborn' life stage, before I had come to the conclusion that I was not going to complete this project myself.

Shown above is just the sculpt, I never got around to retopologizing the model or rigging it for game purposes. While I don't think I will create this game- Im willing to sell my models and keep my game mechanics for future projects.


Personal Projects

I live in a state with lots of horses- known for its horses, actually. I love wildlife, animals, and horses- so you know I had to try modeling my own. I would love to one day participate and help out with an equine game, but no one has contacted me with any offers, yet!


Dinosaur Game : Name Unknown

I was contacted one day by a smaller developer who wanted to make a dinosaur simulator sort of tycoon. Dinosaurs would have powers and odd mutations, and the art design was set to be low poly mesh. Heres a bit of the work I did for their game concept!


Starting out I modeled a compy, keep in mind that their project was not very realistic.


They wanted arms and legs sectioned as well as any special parts to really keep to the art style and aesthetic that their game was aiming for.

Here are a few FK rigs I made for their models, at the time I couldn't create IK rigs but I was pretty proficient with simple FK.



Extinction

As a temporary developer working on the Dinosaur game : Extinction, I got to help out with some early-on assets in their development. While much of my work was unused in the end (primarily due to a change in the games' art style from realistic to low poly stylized), I am still happy to share what was made.


Below you will see two dinosaurs, the camasaurs and the suchomimus- I was handed over completely blank mesh lowpoly models that needed rigging and textures for the game. I was also tasked with creating realistic fitting plants that realistically lived in the games' setting. Both the camasaurus and suchomimus received functioning rigs, though the suchomimus' rig was much more detailed as I had more time on the model. You will also see a screenshot of an un-rendered plant using realism. I created both albedo and PBR textures for the suchomimus to give it a realistic appearance. You can find more of my work on the project in my Clients page and artwork examples.


(to the left) Posed suchomimus with feint topology view

(above) realistic extinct plant

(below) camasaurus rig



Fan Art

Below is some fan-art I created over a pokemon/digimon-esque game. The owner created their own fictional fighting tamable creatures and their own neat little variants and concepts for gameplay.



The game is still in development and unreleased. When I last checked- it's development was put on hiatus as the owner was young and still in school.



Though I did quite like alot of the concepts I got to see during its development, and had applied as a trial developer- I fear the game may not see much development or work anytime soon.


Individual Clientele


Most of these projects aren't finished up due to my client suddenly becoming MIA,deciding they no longer want the specific asset they commisssioned, or payment issues.

Above(left) shows the WIP model for someones fox roleplaying game.

Above(right) shows a roblox compatible low poly head of sonic based off a retro sonic game. The textures you see were placeholder, to show the concept and Idea of where gernal color and shadows were going to be- the final versions' screenshot (at the time of making this) had been lost somewhere amongst old discord private messages.


I had a client commission me for their dream cafe game, similar to the Cafe and restaurant games that have groups and ranks associated with employees working and running the store in game servers. They commissioned me for a wide variety of foods.


A specific note they made was that while they wanted mesh assets, they did not want models with custom image textures.


They wanted to have the flexibility of changing the colors and materials within roblox studio when needed. I went ahead and imported the assets into roblox studio and did a test run using my Coffee mug to see how the items looked when held and used.




I never got paid for the work I did, nor did I ever give the client the models I had fixed up. The model came unrigged with triangles all over. Im going to assume the original artist used decimate to a mild extent to keep the shape and original texture of the model. Im unsure if the original artist ripped this model from something,somewhere, or someone- or if they decimated it to due a dislike with the client(sabatoge attempt).


I was charged with Optimizing the model for animation and higher quality textures. I retopologized, re-laid out the UVs, and then retextured the model to be much more accurate to the character it was meant to represent. After getting textures and UV Done I began working on an advanced rig for experimentational sake, which you can see below.


The rig was never completed, so these videos displaying the WIP previews with minor bugs is all that I have left of the model. You can see the videos to the left and right. These were my first ever facial rigs- and I have much improved since then.


Lastly, a recent commission. A client wanted completely rigged anime-style eyes on a normal Robloxian head mesh.

Done! Well, for now.


This blog will be updated if any models within this post are added onto/ if I had forgotten any projects I've done in the past and haven't yet listed out, for any other new projects I will make more blog posts covering their own topics. Thank you for sticking around!

Comments


bottom of page